Individual finalists in Oil and Gas UK safety awards 2015 announced

TSafety Firsthe names of the final candidates – nominated by their peers –  for the individual awards categories in the 2015 Oil and Gas UK awards have been announced. They are:



Safety Leadership

  • David Howard, Deputy OIM – Beatrice Alpha, Wood Group PSN
  • George McGavin, Lead HSE Advisor, Aker Solutions
  • Vic Retalic, HSES Manager, Premier Oil

Safety Representative of the Year

  • Karen McCombie, Offshore Support Planner, Sodexo
  • Graeme Ritchie, Roustabout, Safety Representative, Rowan Drilling
  • Mark Williams, LOLER focal point/Safety Representative, Petrofac

 Workforce Engagement

  • Danny Savage and Willie McComb, Safety Coach and Project Manager, Centrica Energy
  • Petrofac and Remontowa Shipyard
  • Paul Redding/ Bruce Offshore Platform Team, BP

Les Linklater, Executive Director, Step Change in Safety, commented: “It is only right that we continue to celebrate the efforts made by committed individuals and organisations who are seeking to maintain and improve the safety of the North Sea, despite the challenges the industry is facing. 

“To be nominated by your peers for playing your part is recognition in itself, and every finalist should be proud of reaching this next stage.”

The final winners will be announced on 29 April 2015.

Pixie Energy

Pixie logo Pixie Energy is an incubator and a facilitator of strategic research and project work, focusing on energy regulation, policy and markets at the local and national level. Find out more about Pixie Energy here.

Local Energy Matters: Scotland

Local Energy Matters: Scotland is a free-to-download brochure with a focus on energy tariffs in the two Scottish electricity distribution regions, as well news on local energy and low-carbon schemes.

Previous editions can be download here.

Scottish energy market overview

You can read an overview of the Scottish energy market here.

Scottish Government energy feed