MPs appointed to Commons Energy Committee under its first SNP chairman

Westminster Energy and Climate Change Cttee with chairman Angus MacNeil (SNP) centre
Westminster Energy and Climate Change Cttee with chairman Angus MacNeil (SNP) centre

The House of Commons has formally appointed the follow MPs to the Westminster Energy and Climate Change Committee (below).

The Committee will publish its first full work-programme shortly.

Angus MacNeil (Convenor) SNP, Western Isles

Alistair Carmichael (LibDem, Orkney and Shetland)

Glyn Davies, (Conservative, Montgomeryshire)

James Heappey (Conservative, Wells)

Ian Lavery (Labour, Wansbeck)

Melanie Onn (Labour, Grimsby)

Matthew Pennycook (Labour, Greenwich)

Dr. Poulter (Conservative, Suffolk and Ipswich)

Antoinette Sandbach (Conservative, Eddisbury)

Julian Sturdy (Conservative, Outer York)

Alan Whitehead (Labour, Southampton Test)

But one of their first tasks will be to question UK Energy Minister Amber Rudd next week on her priorities for the Department of Energy (DECC). MPs will consider the following issues; –

  • Overview of DECC’s strategy and policy decisions
  • Consumers and consumer engagement with the energy market
  • Plans to meet long term renewables and decarbonisation targets
  • Energy security
  • Networks and infrastructure
  • Energy efficiency

Pixie Energy

Pixie logo Pixie Energy is an incubator and a facilitator of strategic research and project work, focusing on energy regulation, policy and markets at the local and national level. Find out more about Pixie Energy here.

Local Energy Matters: Scotland

Local Energy Matters: Scotland is a free-to-download brochure with a focus on energy tariffs in the two Scottish electricity distribution regions, as well news on local energy and low-carbon schemes.

Previous editions can be download here.

Scottish energy market overview

You can read an overview of the Scottish energy market here.

Scottish Government energy feed