MPs to quiz ‘Big Six’ chiefs today over fuel price hikes

 Westminster portcullis

Following recent controversial above-inflation price increases, MPs on the Westminster Energy and Climate Change Committee will take evidence from energy companies today (29 October) in Portcullis House.

The 11-man Committee includes former Tory Ministers Tim Yeo and Peter Lilley, as well as Scots Labour MP John Robertson. The evidence sessions will explore a range of issues, including:
 Reasons and justification behind recent energy price rises
  •  Difference of pricing policies between energy suppliers
  •  How transparency of energy company profits can be improved.

Industry chiefs (below) will be questioned in three sessions as follows;


Panel 1 at 2.30pm
  • Tony Cocker, Chief Executive Officer, E.ON
  • William  Morris, Managing Director, SSE
  • Guy Johnson, External Affairs Director,  RWEnpower
  • Stephen Fitzpatrick, Managing Director, Ovo Energy
Panel 2 at 3.30pm
  • Neil Clitheroe, Chief Executive, Scottish Power Retail and Generation
  • Ian Peters, Managing Director – Energy, British Gas 
  • Martin Lawrence, Managing Director (Energy Sourcing and Customer Supply) EDF Energy 
  • Ramsay Dunning, Group General Manager, Co-operative Energy
Panel 3 at 4.30pm
  • Andrew  Wright, Interim Chief Executive, Ofgem

Pixie Energy

Pixie logo Pixie Energy is an incubator and a facilitator of strategic research and project work, focusing on energy regulation, policy and markets at the local and national level. Find out more about Pixie Energy here.

Local Energy Matters: Scotland

Local Energy Matters: Scotland is a free-to-download brochure with a focus on energy tariffs in the two Scottish electricity distribution regions, as well news on local energy and low-carbon schemes.

Previous editions can be download here.

Scottish energy market overview

You can read an overview of the Scottish energy market here.

Scottish Government energy feed